Who am I?

This is me. Me with my love. This picture was taken as we were leaving one chapter and beginning a new chapter in our life. Those times are always so bittersweet. Let me tell you a little about myself. A brief REVIEW of my life you could say.

I grew up with my awesome parents,

my pesky brother who believes in hitting sisters,

Jonathan with the elusive Michael (aka:Wilson)

and my adorable sister that I finally decided to like about 10 years ago. I’m not sure what took me so long. She’s so cool!

Getting ready to jump off the bridge at Victoria Falls

We lived in semi-small town Missouri where my dad worked at lots of different restaurants. Have you ever heard the phrase, “If you’ve got time to lean, you’ve got time to clean?” My dad said that to me every time that I went to work at this little barbeque joint all through high school. Don’t worry, I’ll review that place some day! You’ll want to move to Missouri, or at least drop in for a visit!

Where was I? Oh yes. I grew up in MO. I went to college at a small baptist school on the other side of the state. I graduated woohoo cum laude, meaning, “I’m just so glad I finished!” My degree was education. But I was really looking for that other degree. You know the one. It’s the one that most girls go to small bible schools for. That’s right. I just wanted to get married and have babies and let my husband do all the hard work! Ha! The good ol’ MRS degree. God saw fit to match his plans with mine and I was engaged to my one true love one month before graduation! This is a broad strokes life story. I’ll catch some of the details, like our little love story another time. Maybe I’ll be cool like the Pioneer Woman and do it one chapter at a time. I will say that if it weren’t for my pesky brother Jonathan, I would never have met Matt. He is good for something after all!

After we got married, we moved to the hot country of Texas for seminary. If you ever move there, know which colleges are in which towns or they’ll wring your neck. That’s for your own safety. Who knew? He went to school one year full-time and then scaled down to part-time with a full-time youth pastor job. Four years, three kids, two houses, and one degree later, we moved back to the great state of Missouri. We’ve been back for exactly one year.

I stay home with our kids. We embarked on homeschooling last year. You can read about that decision on my old, seldom updated, blog here.  I’d cuddle my sweet baby girl all day long if she’d let me. Wouldn’t you want to cuddle that face??

Any night I have free I either go shopping, get a pedicure, or sit and read a book. Any time we go on dates (isn’t it about time for one of those, sweetie?), we go out to eat, to a movie, or to a bookstore to sit and read books. Or a combination of all three. We’re all about variety around here!

I’m so excited to start reviewing some things next week. I’ve gotta start getting some of these opinions off my chest!

About rebeccamcdonald

I am an almost (gasp) 30 year old wife of my one true love, mom to 3 (gasp again) kids, all accumulated in 1 very short and at the same time very long year via adoption through foster care and a surprise pregnancy. I love God (a lot), tend to use too much punctuation, love reading, babies, shopping, cleaning, being organized but not getting organized, dreaming about being a good decorator, and reading about other people's lives through their blogs and facebook statuses, and my husband. I'd drop anything in that list of loves to spend time with him, except a baby. A baby I would gently set/sit down on the floor and then I would run off to spend time with my love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who am I?

  1. Sarah says:

    WHAT!? You didn’t like up until 10 years ago? So I guess trying on all your clothes and awkwardly trying to hang out with your friends was a no go. I love you and look forward to reading all your reviews!

  2. Jenn says:

    I’m embarrassed by how long it took me to figure out what an MRS degree is. Yikes.

    I’m glad you are blogging! Can’t wait to read your other posts!

  3. Love your blog! and the fact that you’re a fellow Missourian!! Very exciting!

Leave a Reply

